CUTE AND SOFT, COTTON HOKKAIDO CHIFFON CUPCAKES

8415223264_7ee21c77ce_z

The Hokkaido Chiffon Cupcake seems to be the “in-thing” now, a lot of homebakers are making it. (Other than Tau Huay of course :p).

It is supposed to be “light and cottony soft”, so naturally I wanna have a go at it too :), especially since I like the texture of chiffon cakes very much. So I scouted different blogs for recipes and came across 2 recipes by Cuisine Paradise and Nasi Lemak Lover; both are in fact the same, except the difference in quantity.
5287397284_d59f506c2a_b

The recipe uses the egg separation method, that is, egg whites are whipped separately and then folded into the main batter. I guess the steps are fairly simple to me since I have had experience in baking chiffon cakes. The curious thing about this recipe is, no baking powder/soda or cream of tartar is used. I followed the recipe to a T and didn’t reduce the amount of sugar used since I believe sugar affects the texture of chiffon.

7606274990_ce87630090_b

The verdict? The cake turned out quite light but not cottony soft enough in my opinion. Is it because I didn’t beat the egg whites enough? I kept thinking what had gone wrong in my steps.

Then I saw the recipe by Reirei that was posted in FB under Singapore Homebakers group. Ah ha! Her recipe uses baking powder and cream of tartar! The rest of the ingredients are almost the same, in fact the liquid amount (oil and milk) is lesser. So I baked another small batch (halved her recipe) to test the difference.

14315-550x-Cell phone holders_RKKOcupcakecell505 copy

This time round, the cupcake really turned out cottony soft even the next day! I love it, especially chilled. Hmmm, my conclusion is baking powder and cream of tartar do make a difference to the texture of the cake. I’m re-posting both recipes (based on yield of 9 cupcakes using square cases) below, test both recipes if you like and let me know your personal verdict 🙂

if you want to make the hokkaido chiffon cupcakes, you can download the receipe HERE

Hokkaido Chiffon Cupcakes

 

source : http://dreamersloft.blogspot.com/2012/09/hokkaido-chiffon-cupcakes-comparison-of.html

4 thoughts on “CUTE AND SOFT, COTTON HOKKAIDO CHIFFON CUPCAKES

Leave a comment